Opposition Party Now Majority In Nigeria’s Parliament

For the first time in the history of Nigeria, an opposition party, the Peoples Democratic Party ( PDP), has emerged the majority in the upper legislative chamber, following massive defection by members of the ruling APC.
APC’s leadership saw the signs of the defection coming when it quickly arranged a meeting between President Muhammadu Buhari and Sen Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso, at night which ended in deadlock.
An earlier meeting was arranged with the Senate President , Abubakar Bukola Saraki, when pictured filtered last week of his meeting with PDP National leadership and governors in Kwara State.
The defection of about 15 Senators of the APC to the PDP is coming at a time the governing party just got a new leadership headed by a former governor of Edo State, Adams Oshiomhole.
Although, APC has been fighting itself since coming to power on May 29, 2015.
Oshiomhole, who was President Muhammadu Buhari’s preferred person at the just concluded APC’s convention.
Many people thought Oshiomhole would have a soft sale in uniting the party but had to be hit by defection tsunami.
PDP now have 56 Senators while APC is left with 49 Senators. APGA has 1 Seat while 2 seats are vacant.

Among the APC senators that defected to the PDP, making the opposition party to get the majority in the Nigeria red chamber are: Rabiu Kwankwaso, Suleimen Klunkluyi, Dino Melaye. Abdullahi Danbaba, Isa Misau, Suleiman Nazif; Baki Shittu, Monsurat Sunmmonu, Bayero Nafada, Gombe, Olanrewaju Tejuoso and Senator Nyako.
Elanza News reports that with the defection of 15 lawmakers in a day, more state governors will follow before the conduct of the 2019 general election.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *